F1 News, Views and Reviews

Sato Very Disappointed To Miss Out On Toro Drive

Takuma Sato has declared himself incredibly disappointed to have missed on a drive with Scuderia Toro Rosso as the Italian team announced Sebastien Bourdais had taken the second seat.

The Japanese driver has shown significant talent within F1, and was doing very well with the tiny Super Aguri team before they folded in early 2008.

He entered into F1 with Jordan in 2002, and continued to race with BAR and Aguri.

“I am not sure what my future holds, I will be discussing with my Manager what our next steps should be. However, I strongly feel that I have unfinished business in F1 and that I still have a lot to give. I am determined to stay in top level motorsport and I will be fully focused on making a return to F1 as long as any opportunity is there.” Sato told ESPN F1-Live

“I want to thank all my supporters who have been absolutely fantastic with their loyalty, I will always remember these fantastic relationships we have built and hope we can one day repay this support.”

Meanwhile, Sato’s manager declared himself deeply upset with the decision.  He is certain that Sato was faster, and Bourdais only has the seat because of better sponsorship.
“I am extremely disappointed that Scuderia Toro Rosso has not chosen Takuma to race for them in 2009. Taku had showed tremendous speed and commitment during the three tests he did for the team and I believe he proved to be the faster driver.” Andrew Gilbert Scott, Sato’s manager told ESPN F1-Live

“Unfortunately however the team made no secret about the fact that they would need the drive to bring a substantial amount of funding to the team to secure the drive.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers