F1 News, Views and Reviews

Dennis Says Benz Will Not Take Over

Ron Dennis has categorically denied that he will sell his share to Mercedes Benz, and they would subsequently turn the McLaren team into their own.

The Brit was discussing the theories that Benz could be about to increase their 40% share to a majority of 55% by purchasing dennis’ 15% share.

“No,” he told Italian newspaper Corriere della Sera when asked if it was conceivable Mercedes-Benz could take over the team.

“I don’t see the point; things are fine as they are. Every year, together, we discuss our plans, and we find agreement on everything.”

“In early 2007 I was thinking of becoming less involved in the races, it’s true,” he said. “Then what happened happened, and I didn’t want to leave on those terms. Sooner or later something will change, because I’ve got other business projects planned.

“But I’ll never give up on the team altogether; I’ll just change the role I play. McLaren is in my blood and I’m not an employee, so no-one can sack me.”

Mercedes Benz Badge

Leave a Reply

