F1 News, Views and Reviews

Buemi Realistic On Chances Of Toro Drive

Sebastien Buemi has admitted he is realistic about his chances of securing a drive at the Scuderia Toro Rosso team for 2009.

The driver, who is part of the Red Bull young driver programme and been a tester in F1 for a few years, admitted that he isn’t convinced he will be the driver despite a good test day with the team at Jerez.

The Swiss man is coming up against tough competition for the drive from Takuma Sato and Bruno Senna.

“I am a bit excited, but I try to stay calm,” Buemi said about the talk regarding his future. “I did my best, but maybe I will test again before they take a decision. So I have to wait and see.”

He added: “My objective is for sure to be in F1 next season. I was feeling a bit of pressure about that, which was normal, but now it is over. I did my job.”

When asked if he felt he had done a good job, Buemi said: “I think maybe with the new tyres it could have been a bit better, because I could not manage the last bit of the tyres.

“I think maybe the final tenths could have been a bit better, but my feedback and long runs with old tyres were good, I think. I don’t know when we will get a decision, but we will know for sure.”

Sebastien Buemi

Leave a Reply

