F1 News, Views and Reviews

Alonso Takes First Night Race Crown At Singapore

Fernando Alonso became the first ever F1 driver to win a night race event in Singapore yesterday, taking the chequered flag and bringing the curtain down on a bizarre weekend of racing.

The circuit felt like Monaco under lights, and as a spectacle i feel will never fail to delight.

Alonso took his first win of the season, getting back to winning ways making good overtakes and running his own race well.

Williams’ Nico Rosberg finished second, despite having a penalty and Lewis Hamilton hung onto 3rd.

Massa started well for Ferrari, pulling away from Hamilton.  Alonso was lagging down the midfield.  Despite being left behind in the early stages, Kimi Raikkonen pushed hard and set a series of fast laps.

Vettel and Glock made ground as Kubica and Kovalaienen bashed each other on the opening laps.

Then on lap 14, Nelson Piquet had a nasty shunt indeed smashing into the concrete and destroying the one side of his Renault.  Fortunately, he’s okay.

Coulthard, Webber and Barrichello all dived for the pits and got out fine, but Rosberg and Kubica were forced in with no fuel and received penalties, another example of this completely daft rule.

Massa had a complete drama in the pitlane, pulling away and taking the fuel rig with him like Christijan Albers did in France 2007.  He stopped at the end of the pitlane and mechanics rushed to his aide.  TO be fair, Massa should have won and this was where he lost the crown.

When some other drivers pitted late on, Alonso found himself first well ahead of Rosberg who held off former lower league rival Hamilton brilliantly.

Sutil smashed his car off the track when Massa spun, another incident for the pair.

Glock finished 4th, Vettel in just 5th this time ahead of Heidfeld, Coulthard and Nakajima who made up the points.

Raikkonen smashed the Ferrari up late on.

Race Results

Singaporean Grand Prix;

61 Laps;

Weather: Dry

Pos Driver Team Time
1 F. Alonso Renault
2 N. Rosberg Williams +2.957
3 L. Hamilton McLaren +5.197
4 T. Glock Toyota +8.155
5 S. Vettel Toro Rosso +10.268
6 N. Heidfeld BMW Sauber +11.101
7 D. Coulthard Red Bull +16.387
8 K. Nakajima Williams +18.489
9 J. Button Honda +19.885
10 H. Kovalainen McLaren +26.902
11 R. Kubica BMW Sauber +27.975
12 S. Bourdais Toro Rosso +29.432
13 F. Massa Ferrari +35.170
14 G. Fisichella Force India +43.571
15 K. Raikkonen Ferrari +4 laps


Fastest Lap: K. Raikkonen, Ferrari: 1.45.599



Driver Team Lap Reason
J. Trulli Toyota 51 Gearbox
A. Sutil Force India 50 Crash
M. Webber Red Bull 30 Mechanical
R. Barrichello Honda 15 Mechanical
N. Piquet Renault 14 Crash

Fernando Alonso

My apologies for lack of posts this weekend, i was somewhere where i couldnt get internet access. Sorry! Full sevrices resumed and sidebar updates later 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s