F1 News, Views and Reviews

Senna and Loeb Get F1 Tests

Bruno Senna and Sebastian Loeb have been handed F1 tests.

Senna’s is an evaluation for the 2009 season with the Honda team, to take the place of veteran Rubens Barrichello who is not confirmed for the new season. Senna has had much motorsport success through lower ranks, and Honda are confident he can perform at F1 level already.

It has too been widely reported that Honda’s title sponsor for 2009, BR Petrobras, want a young Brazilian to be driving for them.

“I am obviously very excited about being given my first Formula One test and to have that opportunity with Honda is a dream come true.” Senna told presses yesterday,

“Although I am still only in my fourth year of motor racing, I have wanted to test an F1 car for a very long time and I feel that I am ready for that challenge. I have already spent some time at the factory in Brackley and have enjoyed meeting the team and working with the engineers to prepare for this test. Everyone has been very supportive and it is particularly special for me to have the chance to work with Ross Brawn.

“This is a big opportunity so I want to learn as much as I can before I get to Barcelona. I hope to show the team what I can do, so it’s up to me now to do a good job.”

Bruno Senna

Bruno Senna

Sebastian Loeb has also got a test with the Red Bull racing team. The frenchman, who won his fifth WRC Title last week is getting the test as part of Red Bull’s on-going sponsorship of the Citroen WRC Team.

It is not the first time he has taken the wheel of an F1 car, after a demonstration with Renault. However, this is his first proper test alongside other drivers. Loeb says however, that F1 is not his future, rallying is.

“I’m absolutely delighted by this present from Red Bull to celebrate my fifth title,” he said. “I already got the chance to test a Formula One car last year, but this time the circumstances will be a little different.

“I’m now going to find myself in the midst of all the regular F1 drivers during an official test. I just hope that I don’t make a fool of myself!

“I’d like to clear up any speculation about me possibly switching to F1 next year, I’m definitely going to be driving a Citroen C4 WRC in the World Rally Championship.”

Sebastian Loeb testing Renault

Sebastian Loeb testing Renault

Leave a Reply

