F1 News, Views and Reviews

Waldschmidt Tests With Toyota

Talented Dutch driver Henki Waldschmidt has completed a successful test with the Toyota F1 Team alongisde Jarno Trulli at the Sakhir circuit in Bahrain.

Waldschmidt is part of the Toyota young driver development programme, and a sterling performance in F3 Euroseries across the past few years graduated him to a level at which the F1 team believed he deserved a test.

Henki, 20, completed 128 laps and set a time that was just 1.5 seconds away from Trulli’s 2008 qualifying time, but obviously conditions were different as were goals here making his time appear even more impressive.

“I am very grateful to Panasonic Toyota Racing for giving me this opportunity to test a Formula One car for the first time,” Waldschmidt commented after the test.

“It has been a fantastic experience and I have learned a lot. The performance of the TF108 is incredible compared to the cars I am used to driving and the experience of handling the power, the brakes and the downforce will be very helpful to me in my career.”

“I was very impressed to see how professional the team is and I can understand why they have made so much progress in the last year or so.  I was not particularly familiar with the Bahrain circuit so it was a big learning curve on Wednesday but I am very pleased with my performance.”

Leave a Reply

