F1 News, Views and Reviews

Former Toyota Man Ralf Schumacher Sticks With DTM For ’09

Former Toyota and Williams F1 driver Ralf Schumacher has silenced those who believed he was to retire from motorosport by unvieling himself to be in a brand new Mercedes Benz for the 2009 DTM Series.

The German, whose brother Michael is one of the most successful racing drivers of all time, left F1 at the end of 2007 and spent 2008 in DTM, driving a 1 year old Mercedes.  It was a steep learning curve for Ralf, something evident from the other former F1 drivers who have dabbled in DTM before him including Mika Hakkinen and Jean Alesi.

With paddock rumour suggesting Schumacher was quitting motorsport to go and race yachts, it is a real suprise to see him in a brand new 2009 specification Mercedes Benz C-Class.

“It was clear for all of us that 2008 would be a learning year for me, therefore I am satisfied with my achievements,” Schumacher told DTM.com

“The 2009 C-Class is a big chance for me and I want to justify the trust Mercedes-Benz put in me with good results.

“In my opinion, the DTM is the best touring car series in the world. Here we fight hard for every metre and every tenth of a second. As I know from many encounters in the paddock, the fans like this as much as me. From my point of view, the spectators don’t get more value for their money in any other top racing series.”

Leave a Reply

