F1 News, Views and Reviews

Allmendinger Not Interested In USF1

AJ Allmendinger, a ChampCar race winner and NASCAR driver has said he is not interested in racing for the USF1 team which is to be launched in the next few days.

The driver, currently racing in the Sprint Cup series in America, would like to sample an F1 car but admitted that it is not his current focus.

His last experience of open wheel racing was in ChampCar, where he drove for RuSport before switching to Forsythe Racing, a team he won 5 races for.

“I’m not focused on that,” said Allmendinger. “I loved being a part of NASCAR. Going to all these races and being around the fans, I enjoy being here. I enjoy the racing… I enjoy all that.

“I’m a true American at heart; I like to in-between races…watch my NFL on Sunday and all that. I’ve learned in this sport, after everything that has happened to me the last couple of years, don’t deny anything. Just nod your head and smile and say there’s a chance.”

“Driving a racecar, no matter what it is, has intrigue to me. That (F1 car) is something that I haven’t driven before, so it’s intriguing, but it’s not my focus either.”

In other American racing news, former Minardi and Red Bull Racing driver Robert Doornbos has secured a seat in the Indy Racing League (IRL).

Doornbos drove for Italian minnows Minardi in F1 in 2005, before moving to test with Red Bull Racing in 2006.  He has driven in races for the team in 2006 after Christian Klien left the team.  He performed well, qualifying in the top 10 on his first attempt at the Chinese Grand Prix.

He has also competed in various demonstrations of F1 machinery, in ChampCar where he won 2 races and more recently in the Superleague Formula.

He will drive for the Newman/Haas/Lanigan team.

“I’m very happy and proud to get this chance to race with Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing,” Doornbos said.

“Racing in the IndyCar Series has been my biggest dream and especially to do it with Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing. The history of the team and the big success they have had in the past really attracted me, and it makes me proud to become part of this winning team.”

“It will be tough, but I’m training as much as possible and am in good condition and ready to achieve results. I’m also excited to race in the legendary Indy 500.”

Leave a Reply

