F1 News, Views and Reviews

Malaysian Grand Prix 2009: Button Takes Pole Again

Jenson Button sensationally grabbed pole in another close, tense affair in qualifying.

It is the second pole in two races for the British driver who many had written off in the running to this season.  the Brawn GP BGP001 car looks fantastically fast, and its only serious rival at the current time is Toyota.

Jarno Trulli in that Toyota was 2nd, and Sebastian Vettel was 3rd in the Red Bull but he will lose 10 places due to that penalty from the Australian GP.  As Barrichello, who finished 4th incurs a 5 place drop for a gearbox change, Trulli’s team-mate Timo Glock will start the race 3rd.

Kimi Raikkonen is down in 9th [but will start 7th], after a dismal qualifying session for Ferrari.  The Finnish driver looked quick, but in truth the F60 is just not as fast at those running with the diffusers.  The Finn also disabled his KERS system due to a major fire during free practice.  His team mate Felipe Massa went out in Q1, after a massive strategic error by the Ferrari team in not sending him out for another lap.  They thought they would be safe with a 1.35 time, but cars were getting the lap times down to 1.33’s at times during this qualifying session.  The Brazilian was not amused.

Fernando Alonso made a colossal effort to get 10th, despite an ear infection which is affecting his fitness and balance.  Miles faster than team mate Nelson Piquet Jr, who watched by his father the 3 time world champion, could do not better than 17th.  As Eddie Jordan suggested, it would be short odds on the Brazilian to be sacked first this season.

Both McLaren’s were out in Q2, 13th and 14th respectively.  Hamilton is still reeling after the “Liar Lewis” incidents, which filled the papers and question sessions again today.  With fellow Brit Button doing so well, Hamilton’s lies and damage to his image must be on the way to becoming irreparable.  Hamilton Fields will become Button Fields one can imagine at the forthcoming British Grand Prix, Silverstone.

The Force India’s made a valiant effort to get out of the first qualifying session, but could not – Adrian Sutil was fastest at one point, and no he was not the first car out!  Sebastien Buemi will start last.

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 J. Button Brawn 1.35.058 1.33.784 1.35.181
2 J. Trulli Toyota 1.34.745 1.33.990 1.35.273
3 T. Glock Toyota 1.34.907 1.34.258 1.35.690
4 N. Rosberg Williams 1.35.083 1.34.547 1.35.750
5 M. Webber Red Bull 1.35.027 1.34.222 1.35.797
6 R. Kubica BMW Sauber 1.35.166 1.34.562 1.34.106
7 K. Raikkonen Ferrari 1.35.476 1.34.456 1.36.170
8 F. Alonso Renault 1.35.260 1.34.706 1.37.659
9 R. Barrichello Brawn Penalty Gearbox Change
10 N. Heidfeld BMW Sauber 1.35.110 1.34.769
11 K. Nakajima Williams 1.35.347 1.34.788
12 L. Hamilton McLaren 1.35.280 1.34.905
13 S. Vettel Red Bull Penalty From Australia
14 H. Kovalainen McLaren 1.35.023 1.34.924
15 S. Bourdais Toro Rosso 1.35.507 1.35.431
16 F. Massa Ferrari 1.35.642
17 N. Piquet Renault 1.35.708
18 A. Sutil Force India 1.35.908
19 G. Fisichella Force India 1.35.951
20 S. Buemi Toro Rosso 1.36.107

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s