F1 News, Views and Reviews

Trulli Saddened Not To Give Toyota A First Win

Jarno Trulli has admitted that he was highly disappointed not to be giving Toyota the champagne glory of a first victory tonight, after he failed to win the Bahrain Grand Prix despite starting on pole.

The Italian had to make do with third position instead.

He started in first but was passed into the first corner by his team mate Timo Glock, who was lighter on fuel.  He struggled with graining hard compound tyres, and was also passed by Sebastian Vettel during the race before finishing in third position.

“I’m a little bit disappointed because I was waiting for the first win for Toyota,” said Trulli. “Unfortunately the start cost me a position. From then on, it was a hard race.

“I was following my team-mate, I was going longer and then during the second stint we went long on hard tyres. I was really fighting with a lot of cars. I was not really quick, but was competitive on the harder tyres.”

“Eventually, Vettel took the position after my last stop. He was on the hard tyres and I was on the softs and I was pushing him because I was quicker. But there was no way of overtaking.

“I want to thank the team because they have done a very good job. Let’s fight again in the next race.”

Leave a Reply

