F1 News, Views and Reviews

Monaco GP 2009: Button Takes The Flag

Jenson Button won the Monaco Grand Prix, yet again standing on the top step for Brawn GP.  As Bernie Ecclestone put it “We changed the bloody rules to get different winners, not the same one all the time…”

Race Review

Jenson Button got away well as the Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen didn’t find grip losing 2nd position to Rubens Barrichello.  Felipe Massa managed to hold position behind Vettel, and into the early part of the race the Red Bull driver was losing time.

Further back, Lewis Hamilton and others sneaked down the side of Jarno Trulli who struggled away and ultimately had a poor race, unlike 5 years ago when he won here in the principality.  Hamilton also got past Robert Kubica, but broke his front wing on the BMW, only to get it changed late on – hindering his overall pace.

Vettel and the Brawn’s were on the super soft option tyres and were struggling.  Massa in the faster Ferrari made a daring move, but lost out position to Rosberg.  When Vettel made a mistake, Rosberg, Massa and Heikki Kovalainen made it past.  The German driver made a stop for some new tyres and fuel.

While in the midfield, Vettel now full with fuel managed to slide off into St. Devote and ended his race prematurely.

Vettel’s would not be the only incident at St. Devote, Sebastien Buemi got his braking point all wrong and slid into the back of Nelson Piquet taking them both out.  This prompted an angry Piquet to say on BBC TV “They let all of these youngster’s who don’t know what they’re doing have licences, it’s wrong”.  Well excuse me Piquet, last time I looked you were hardly the seasoned professional yourself.  This DNF will lead to the rumour mill starting up about his future yet again, while slowing for Bourdais as he managed to complete the race…

The Ferrari’s being on short first stints meant they could muster the challenge to get past an ailing Rubens Barrichello.  They fuelled longer though and into the second round Kimi Raikkonen was able to briefly secure the lead ahead of Jenson Button but it would be futile. 

Nico Rosberg ended up stuck behind Felipe Massa as he, and Renault’s Fernando Alonso went for longer middle stints to minimise the time they would spend on super soft tyres.  This caused them to be very slow and ultimately cost them a fighting chance at the podium.

Heikki Kovalainen had been running a great race until about 2/3 of the way through he lost control into Swimming Pool 2 and smashed into the barriers.  A nasty incident but only warranted waved yellow’s, the Finn emerging from the chrome McLaren unscathed.

Sebastien Bourdais and Giancarlo Fisichella were both one stoppers, the moaning Frenchman managed to raise a smile beating Fisico to the final points paying position.  That said, 9th was a significant improvement for the Force India, whose team boss Vijay Mallya was in South Africa watching his IPL cricket team play.

Nakajima would have been 10th if he hadn’t lost it into Mirabeau on the final lap, leaving Glock in 10th and Heidfeld 11th.

Last season’s winner Lewis Hamilton was 12th, followed by a very disappointed Jarno Trulli, a slow Adrian Sutil made up the 14 finishers.

Classified Results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 J. Button Brawn Mercedes
2 R. Barrichello Brawn Mercedes +7.666
3 K. Raikkonen Ferrari +13.443
4 F. Massa Ferrari +15.110
5 M. Webber Red Bull Renault +15.730
6 N. Rosberg Williams Toyota +33.586
7 F. Alonso Renault +37.839
8 S. Bourdais Toro Rosso Ferrari +1.03.142
9 G. Fisichella Force India Merc +1.05.040
10 T. Glock Toyota +1 lap
11 N. Heidfeld BMW Sauber +1 lap
12 L. Hamilton McLaren Mercedes +1 lap
13 J. Trulli Toyota +1 lap
14 A. Sutil Force India Merc +1 lap

Fastest Lap: Felipe Massa (Ferrari) ; 1.15.154


Driver Team Lap Reason
K. Nakajima Williams Toyota 77 Crash (Mirabeau)
H. Kovalainen McLaren Mercedes 52 Crash (Piscine)
R. Kubica BMW Sauber 31 Unknown
S. Vettel Red Bull Renault 16 Crash (St. Devote)
N. Piquet Renault 11 Crash (St. Devote)
S. Buemi Toro Rosso Ferrari 11 Crash (St. Devote)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s