F1 News, Views and Reviews

Pantano Looking At Campos Seat For 2010

Giorgio Pantano has wasted no time throwing his hat into the ring for a chance at the seat with the new Campos Cosworth team, officially entered into Formula One yesterday with FIA approval.

Campos, a GP2 racing team will be powered by Cosworth B8’s and have a chassis built by Dallara Engineering.

Pantano, the current GP2 champion with Racing Engineering raced with Campos previously, taking them to victories and 3rd in the 2007 Championship.

The Italian is no stranger to Formula One having raced with Jordan in 2004.

“There is nothing that we can say at the moment, just that we have had a good relationship, myself and [Adrian Campos], and also that we had a great time together,” Pantano told Autosport

“We’ve had a good announcement from the FIA and I am happy for him and the people working for him because they are wonderful. Now we’ll see if there is a chance for me there.”

“My dream is Formula 1 or IndyCar, they are the first series that I want to be involved in. I don’t want to race in other categories, my focus is on them, and otherwise I’ll think about changing my job if there isn’t something good. I have to look at my future now.”

Pantano is the first champion of the GP2 series not to get an immediate drive in Formula One.  He races in Megane Eurocup, and will be in the Superleague Formula Series when it gets underway for its second season later this year.

4 responses

  1. I think giorgio is a very good driver, for me if I cant race in F1 or Indy, I should try Le Man Series or DTM, where other former F1 drivers also excel..

    June 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  2. ovif1

    Hello I love your blog, has long followed. Is a question that you put a translator? From where did you Get? I say this because it will not let me put wodpress.com translators. Please I would like to be answered. Bye

    June 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm

  3. oviF1 – Thanks for your comment. Scroll down the sidebar of the page on the right to “translate” then click the flag of your country if it appears. I use Google’s translator, so it will not be entirely accurate but should give a good representation of the article.

    Thanks.

    June 19, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  4. ovif1

    Thanks, but alredy doing put the translator in my blog. Thanks for your help.

    August 8, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

