F1 News, Views and Reviews

Trulli Closing On 2010 Toyota Contract

Jarno Trulli is said to be close to securing a contract to drive for the Toyota team again in 2010.

The Italian, who is now approaching 37 years of age will enter another season with the Japanese team who are based in Cologne, Germany.  Trulli has driven for them since 2005, when he and Ralf Schumacher joined the team taking over from an unsuccessful spell with Olivier Panis and Cristiano da Matta.

Jarno has been involved in F1 since 1997, where he started out with the Minardi team before jumping ship to Prost midway through the season.  He stayed with the French team until 1999, joining Jordan in 2000 whom he raced with until the end of 2001.  For 2002-2004 he drove for Renault, and has one career victory at Monaco in the 04 season to his name.

Toyota have been looking to secure the veteran’s services after the team allegedly failed to attract Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen to a seat for 2010.  Toyota are one of the few teams that could afford his lavish salary which is in the tens of millions of dollars.

“At the moment I am driving, and really enjoying it,” Trulli told Autosport about his thoughts for the future. “As long as you drive quick there is no reason to be concerned.

“Obviously you don’t know what is going to happen, as it is hard to see where F1 is heading to at the moment, but that will all be clear soon.

“I am happy about my performance and confidence. And for sure in my mind I don’t have the feeling I want to stop because I feel I have a lot to do. I feel very strong and very competitive, so I just hope I can stay in F1 and I am confident, but it is difficult to talk at the moment because the teams are busy doing other things at the moment.”

Leave a Reply

