F1 News, Views and Reviews

Alguersuari Confirmed At Toro Rosso

Jaime Alguersuari has been confirmed to have gained the race seat vacated by Sebastien Bourdais at the Scuderia Toro Rosso team.

Alguersuari from Spain will become the youngest ever person to compete in a Formula One Grand Prix at the age of just 19 years and 4 months.  He is one month younger than the previous record holder, Mike Thackwell who made his F1 debut at the 1980 Canadian Grand Prix and three months younger than when fellow Spaniard Fernando Alonso made his debut.

New boss Franz Tost said he is not expecting anything from the young man, but Alguersuari himself is hoping for good things of the STR.

“I would like to thank Red Bull for giving me this great opportunity to race in Formula 1,” he said.

“Ever since I started racing this has been my dream and thanks to the Red Bull Junior Programme I will now realise my ambition of lining up on a Grand Prix grid.

“I am aware that I’m facing a very tough challenge, because coming into Formula 1 is never easy, coming into Formula 1 in the middle of a season is even harder and doing so without any testing is really difficult. But already I feel that I am getting great support from the team, who have quite a reputation for looking after rookie drivers.”

Alguersuari also confirmed he will continue to race in Formula Renault 3.5.  He also extended his condolences to the Surtees family after yesterday’s death of friend Henry Surtees, whom he raced with at Carlin Motorsport in F3.

Leave a Reply

