F1 News, Views and Reviews

Hungarian GP 2009: Alonso Takes Pole As Massa Hits Wall In Horror Crash

Fernando Alonso has taken pole position in a highly chaotic qualifying session, which saw Felipe Massa taken away in a medical helicopter and the FOM lose timing screens.

Alonso outqualified everyone in a Renault car which looked unbeliveable, reminding us that the French team based in Enstone could make race winning cars.  He will be alongside Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber just behind in 3rd for tomorrow’s race.

A better McLaren car this weekend has seen improvements from both drivers with Lewis Hamilton starting in 4th, Kovalainen 6th split by Nico Rosberg of the Williams team.

Raikkonen will start the race 7th, his team mate Felipe Massa had a horror crash at the end of Q2.  He was racing around when he was hit on the helmet (in a similar fashion to Henry Surtees) by a piece of Rubens Barrichello’s suspension.  It knocked him out and his Ferrari went straight into the wall.  He managed to brake a little bit, but still smashed into the tyres with enough force to light up the emergency G-Light.  He has been airlifted to hospital and is said to be in a stable condition – more news when we have it.

Rubens Barrichello got knocked out in Q2, and will only start 13th behind Sebastien Buemi who did a marvellous performance to 12th.  Toyota looked disappointing again, just scraping in.  Not as disappointing as their German based counterparts BMW Sauber who failed to get out of Q1.  Heads will be rolling at Munich for sure.

Jaime Alguersuari will start last after a good Q1, he attempted to better his time but the Toro Rosso car broke down on his out lap.  Harsh luckl for the 19 year old who wasn’t too downbeat.

Pos  Driver       Team                       Q1        Q2        Q3     
 1.  Alonso       Renault               (B)  1:21.313  1:20.826  1:21.569
 2.  Vettel       Red Bull-Renault      (B)  1:21.178  1:20.604  1:21.607
 3.  Webber       Red Bull-Renault      (B)  1:20.964  1:20.358  1:21.741
 4.  Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  1:20.842  1:20.465  1:21.839
 5.  Rosberg      Williams-Toyota       (B)  1:20.793  1:20.862  1:21.890
 6.  Kovalainen   McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  1:21.659  1:20.807  1:22.095
 7.  Raikkonen    Ferrari               (B)  1:21.500  1:20.647  1:22.468
 8.  Button       Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  1:21.471  1:20.707  1:22.511
 9.  Nakajima     Williams-Toyota       (B)  1:21.407  1:20.570  1:22.835
10.  Massa        Ferrari               (B)  1:21.420  1:20.823
11.  Buemi        Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  1:21.571  1:21.002
12.  Trulli       Toyota                (B)  1:21.416  1:21.082
13.  Barrichello  Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  1:21.558  1:21.222
14.  Glock        Toyota                (B)  1:21.584  1:21.242
15.  Piquet       Renault               (B)  1:21.278  1:21.389
16.  Heidfeld     BMW-Sauber            (B)  1:21.738
17.  Fisichella   Force India-Mercedes  (B)  1:21.807
18.  Sutil        Force India-Mercedes  (B)  1:21.868
19.  Kubica       BMW-Sauber            (B)  1:21.901
20.  Alguersuari  Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  1:22.359


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s