F1 News, Views and Reviews

Peter Sauber Attemping To Save BMW Team

Peter Sauber, the former team principal of the well liked Sauber team, which ran in F1 until 2005 when he sold the team to BMW has told a popular newspaper that he is trying to save the team and create a rescue package.

Sauber is working alongside BMW man Mario Theissen as they attempt to make a resuce package.  Sauber himself said he didn’t want to be the boss again, but is considering a Ross Brawn style Honda buyout as a possibility.

He called on Switzerland to save the team that is based in Hinwil.

“I will do everything humanly possible,” Sauber was quoted on Bild‘s website as saying. “I can’t do wonders and I certainly do not want to be team boss on the pitwall again.

“The problem is that time is short and we need to find a solution quickly.”

“I’ve told all my people that I will use all my contacts, but I can’t guarantee anything. I am an advisor to BMW but ultimately only they can decide how to drive it forward.”

“The best solution would be a Ross Brawn-type solution at Honda,” he said. “You need at least ten years to amass a team which can produce a F1 car to the level required and if we let this team fall apart the chances are that Switzerland will never again have such an opportunity.”

Leave a Reply

