F1 News, Views and Reviews

Davidson Reckons He Has A Shot At Ferrari Seat

Okay, so in my daily wade through the news and rumours I came across this fantastic interview with Anthony Davidson, who must work as a jester in his spare time.

Davidson, speaking to well known British broadsheet newspaper The Daily Telegraph says he is going to put himself forward for a shot at the Ferrari drive after Luca Badoer’s poor performance last weekend.

Badoer was nowhere near as good as expected and rumours have started about his replacement, including Nelson Piquet Jr, Marc Gene and seemingly now Davidson.

“I will be speaking to Ferrari personally this week to put my name forward,” said the 30-year-old Briton, who was BAR/Honda’s long time test driver and raced for Super Aguri as recently as last year.

“Luca was not anywhere near scoring points and that car is capable of doing that,” Davidson is quoted as saying by the Daily Telegraph newspaper.

“I’m ready and I think I’m better. That’s not being arrogant. It’s just what I believe. I’ve got the necessary experience that I’ll get my chance in Formula One – so why not at Ferrari?”

Im sorry, but I find this rather funny.  Davidson mate, you’ve got about as much chance as me at getting the drive.  If he gets it, I will be the first to congratulate him but honestly, I think I just saw a pig fly past the window, or maybe just Yuji Ide hitting Christijan Albers…

Ed note: I find it humourous to thought that Davidson reckons he has a chance, only because of Ferrari’s general “internal” driver policy.  If Badoer is dropped, and Schumacher cannot race then the drive will almost certainly go to Marc Gene, or one of those Italian F3 drivers who tested last year.  I am not disputing Davidson’s driving ability, but he has the same traits and credentials as Badoer – great tester, no F1 points…  Thus, I can’t see it happening. In truth, I can’t see Nelson Piquet heading to Ferrari either but his name has been banded around the grapevines.  Davidson’s not a bad driver, in F1 and sportscars but he just isn’t Ferrari potential in my opinion.

5 responses

  1. I don’t see anything funny in that at all. Davidson is a highly skilled driver and has more race experience than Badoer, not to mention that he’s younger, fitter and knows the tracks from testing for various teams, as well as his experience in the Aguri and the feeder series.

    Davidson is highly rated by many, and Badoer has proved that he just doesn’t have it. What I find truly amusing is your mention of Piquet. Now that is a joke!

    August 24, 2009 at 9:52 pm

  2. Davidson hasn’t scored any points in his F1 career like Badoer, and I see the same issues between the two of them. Both are good test drivers. Both have had pretty poor race careers. I just think that Badoer has proven there is a hgue gulf between testing a car for days on end around Catalunya to racing in a proper all out weekend of F1.

    I only find it amusing that Davidson reckons he has a chance with Ferrari, in terms of Ferrari being all internal. If Badoer IS fired, and Schumacher CANNOT return then Gene, or one of those Italian F3 drivers who was tested recently will get the chance. Ferrari are almost certain not to look “outside the box” as it were.

    Im nto disputing Davidson’s general driving ability, moreover he is talented with sportscars, I just can’t see him winning races.

    Nelson Piquet was banded around as rumour thanks to his 2009 car experience, but I think this is pretty much as unlikely as Davidson.

    August 24, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  3. Mika Salo.

    August 25, 2009 at 12:54 am

  4. True, although Mika had driven as a replacment driver earlier in that season with British American Racing when Ricardo Zonta was injured, I remember Mika’s brakes failing at Monaco as he went into Lowes hairpin and put the BAR into the barriers down there.

    Mika is now a big part of that Ferrari family, he drives Sportscars in Le Mans series for a satellite Ferrari team and remains a well known and liked member of their former driver community.

    Its also worth noting that Ferrari did not take Luca Badoer out of the Minardi team at this time, despite him just starting as a test driver with the Scuderia.

    August 25, 2009 at 12:30 pm

  5. ferrara101

    This article has really piqued my interest.
    I think it’s time to get my CV in order and head to Italy, see if I have a chance.
    Great article, f1fanatics.

    August 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

