F1 News, Views and Reviews

Bortolotti Focusing On F2 Not Ferrari Possiblity

MirkoBortolotti has said he is focusing on his Formula 2 career at the moment rather than the possibility of driving for F1 giants Ferrari.

The Italian yougnster has already achieved success in the newly formed F2 series, and following a very successful test in a Ferrari F2008 last year he is being linked with the Felipe Massa/Luca Badoer seat.

Bortolotti is just 19 years old, and the interest has been sparked after the lack of success test driver Luca Badoer achieved.

Depite the focus, Mirko says he is just focusing on F2.

“All I can say is that I’m racing in F2 and I’m not thinking about anything other than the championship,” he said on Wednesday.

“I want to be higher than sixth, so I have to work hard and apply myself 100%. There is still enough time to improve, so if I can get the best possible results hopefully I can move up the order again.

“There has been quite a lot of speculation in Italy surrounding the Ferrari seat. To be honest I think Luca (Badoer) just needs a bit more time to get a feeling for the car.

“Everything has changed since he last raced, but I’m sure he will be quicker at Spa as the pace is there in the car.

“As for me, I’m just focusing on Formula Two. It’s nice to be linked with the team, but my mentality is just to do a good job for the remaining three rounds – after that, I’ll start thinking about my future.”

Bortolotti in the Ferrari

Bortolotti in the Ferrari

Leave a Reply

