F1 News, Views and Reviews

Button To Target Wins Not Points In Forthcoming Races

Current championship leader Jenson Button has not had a good few races, and indeed it has been some time now since he won a race even.

Button, in his most competitive car to date the Brawn GP 001 has struggled with tyre problems and in the last race in Belgium a first lap incident with Romain Grosjean.

Rubens Barrichello and Sebastian Vettel have made ground to catch him, but with better performances from Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton the lead Button holds has not been cut too much.

Therefore the Briton could just make points finishes to limp home to a world championship, his first, but he says he does not want to do that and will be working hard to find the winning formula once again.

“We’ve got to start getting back to being competitive,” he explained. “All I need to do is finish fourth or fifth, but that’s not what I want to do. I want to win races.

“You’ve got say ‘think about the championship’, but I still want to win races. It’s what I’m here to do and it’s what I love doing, competing at the front.

“So I’m going to be aggressive. I’m not going to suddenly back off after qualifying and take it easy in the races because if I’m in fifth I still want to do well, I still want to win races and I still want to be competitive, and that’s exactly what will hopefully happen in Monza.”

Leave a Reply

