F1 News, Views and Reviews

Badoer Blames The Media For Loss Of Ferrari Seat

Luca Badoer has blamed the media for his loss of a temporary drive with the Scuderia Ferrari F1 Team.

Badoer was brought in as a second rate replacement for Felipe Massa after Michael Schumacher, the first choice replacement for Massa could not race due to a neck injury.

After two race weekends languishing at the bottom of the timesheets, Badoer came under a lot of criticism from newspapers, television, bloggers and tweeters about his poor performances and was replaced last week by Giancarlo Fisichella.

“Those who write don’t understand how much harm they can cause,” Badoer was quoted as saying by Gazzetta Sportiva. “The media played a fundamental role in the decision to replace me.”

But Badoer didn’t just hit out at the media, he also criticised the FIA for reducing the amount of testing possibilities.  He also admitted that while he had been slow, and sacked, he will always remember the opportunity.

“I realised my dream,” Badoer added “I will always be able to tell my kids I raced two races for Ferrari. Maranello had faith in me. I only have one regret – from the third grand prix I would have done better.

“There was no agreement on how many races I would do. I thought I had time to improve. And these rules stop a reserve driver from testing and make him a victim – it happens only in Formula 1.”

Leave a Reply

