F1 News, Views and Reviews

Italian GP 2009: Post Qualifying Reaction

Here are some interviews with drivers and team bosses following today’s qualifying session for the 2009 Italian Grand Prix at Monza.  This is a new idea to collaborate interviews in one easy, simple post.  Let me know what you think.

Lewis Hamilton (GBR) – McLaren Mercedes – Qualified: 1st

“It was a very close qualifying session…and they (Force India) are incredibly fast and competitive, but our team did a great job this weekend. I was able to put the lap together. It’s such a great feeling to put that lap together, the public have to imagine what it is like, it is the most exciting exhilarating thing.

“I guess we have to wait and see what the strategies are for everyone tomorrow, but we feel quite comfortable and needed to be where we are,”

Adrian Sutil (DEU) – Force India – Qualified: 2nd

“It is a great moment, a great deal. The whole weekend was a big success already. We did good work, and the car is amazing, really quick.  It’s unbelievable, it is so good for the team especially after the Spa success.  We continued it here and just being competitive, it is such a different feeling in the car right now. You know you have a chance.

“It’s a good feeling like the racing driver is back in me. I enjoyed every single moment.”

Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) – Ferrari – Qualified: 3rd

“It is not perfect for sure but it shows us again that once we put race fuel in the car it is stronger against the others.  The car is more difficult in Q2 than in Q1 or Q3. It has been very good all weekend. We have some issues with it but unfortunately we cannot fix them as well as we want.  Overall, with race fuel the car is running nicely and I am very happy with it.

“We (will) give the best and hopefully give the best for our Italian fans and ourselves.”

Jenson Button (GBR) – Brawn Mercedes – Qualified: 6th

“All weekend I’ve been pretty happy with the car, and it got better in qualifying. It went well on both high fuel and low fuel.  I think we can go well from there [sixth]. My team-mate slightly pipped me, by 15 hundredths, which is a pain, but we’re in a good position.

“I want to go out there and win this race. We’ve done the best strategy not to just score points but to do the best job we can this weekend. I think our strategy is good and I’m looking forward to it.”

Timo Glock (DEU) – Toyota – Qualified: 16th

“It’s frustrating to miss out on second qualifying when I was only sixth tenths away from the fastest lap of the session,” said the Toyota driver, who will start from a disappointing 16th position.

“We looked quite promising this morning but we didn’t transfer all of that speed to qualifying, and I wasn’t helped by traffic.”

Jaime Alguersuari (ESP) – Toro Rosso – Qualified: 20th [5 place penalty]

“I was not expecting much from this session, after problems in the morning with my gearbox meant I only did ten laps in free practice,” said the Spanish rookie.

“Because of that, I did not have the time to try much in terms of setting up the car. Therefore, we carried over some unknown factors into qualifying and I have to say, I am still getting used to driving the car in this low downforce configuration.

“I hope I can still have a good race tomorrow and to be honest, I hope it rains.”

Leave a Reply

