F1 News, Views and Reviews

Abu Dhabi GP 2009: Vettel Wins Final Race Of Season

Sebastian Vettel clinched the final race win of the season in a thrilling evening race in Abu Dhabi.

It was the emirates first ever F1 Grand Prix, and I think I am one of many who will be heaping praise on the new Yas Marina Circuit, its fantastic facilities, near perfect track and brilliant conditions led to a terrific weekend to cap off the 2009 season.

Vettel’s team mate Mark Webber came in 2nd place, holding off a real late surge from World Champion Jenson Button who tried everything to get passed the Australian but couldn’t so had to settle for 3rd place.

In truth, Lewis Hamilton should really have been in first or at least on the podium, but reliability struggles hit the out-going World Champ, his brakes failing and the McLaren mechanics not willing to keep a potentially dangerous car out on track.

Button had a slight embarrasing moment when star rookie Kamui Kobayashi pulled off some epic overtaking to put his Toyota ahead of the Brawn car during the first stint, the Japanese going on to finish 6th and almost certainly securing himself a 2010 drive with Toyota.

Rubens Barrichello missed out on the runner up spot, and in potentially his final race with Brawn GP finished in 4th, having to hold off massive pressure from Nick Heidfeld who tried to give BMW their best send off possible.

Yesterday’s birthday-bo Sebastien Buemi cleaned up with the final points as some big names finished well down the table, with Heikki Kovalainen finishing 11th, Raikkonen 12th and Fernando Alonso 14th.

Giancarlo Fisichella had a poor send off in potentially his final Grand Prix, getting a drive-through penalty and ending the day down in 16th.

Look out for The F1Fanatics Blog Official 2009 Season Review soon!

Pos  Driver        Team                      Time
 1.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault      (B)  1h34:03.314
 2.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault      (B)  +    17.857
 3.  Button        Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  +    18.467
 4.  Barrichello   Brawn-Mercedes        (B)  +    22.735
 5.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber            (B)  +    26.253
 6.  Kobayashi     Toyota                (B)  +    28.343
 7.  Trulli        Toyota                (B)  +    34.366
 8.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari    (B)  +    41.294
 9.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota       (B)  +    45.941
10.  Kubica        BMW Sauber            (B)  +    48.180
11.  Kovalainen    McLaren-Mercedes      (B)  +    52.798
12.  Raikkonen     Ferrari               (B)  +    54.317
13.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota       (B)  +    59.839
14.  Alonso        Renault               (B)  +  1:09.687
15.  Liuzzi        Force India-Mercedes  (B)  +  1:34.450
16.  Grosjean      Renault               (B)  +     1 lap
17.  Fisichella    Ferrari               (B)  +     1 lap
18.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  (B)  +     1 lap



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s