F1 News, Views and Reviews

Former F1 Driver Larini Announces Touring Car Retirement

Former Ferrari F1 driver Nicola Larini has announced he will be retiring from the World Touring Car Championship series following the completion of the final round of the season this weekend in Macau.

The Italian drove in F1 between 1987 and 1997 completeing 48 GP’s and racing with teams such as Ferrari and Ligier.  He got his only podium at the fateful 1994 San Marino Grand Prix where F1 lost Roland Ratzenberger and the great Ayrton Senna.

Outside of F1 he also drove in DTM and ETCC.

“Macau’s round will be my final races as a works drivers in the WTCC,” said Larini in a statement. “I came to the conclusion that it was the moment to move on and time to call it a career as a WTCC driver.

“Chevrolet RML has been my home for five years and I am happy to have spent this time around them, a spell nearly as long as I had with Alfa Romeo and Ferrari before.”

“I am saying goodbye to WTCC in Macau, but I am not saying I’m retiring for good. I still love to race, and if there is a series or an operation that I can join without this taking a toll on my personal life, then I’ll give a hard look to the opportunity,” he added.

Nicola Larini with Ferrari

2 responses

  1. Pingback: How Do I Find And Disable Download Accelerator Utilities To Download And Update A Different Driver? | Video Driver Updates Blog

  2. that’s bad news…. he’s the best driver all around the WTCC =(

    November 22, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

