F1 News, Views and Reviews

Raikkonen On The Verge Of Signing World Rally Deal

Kimi Raikkonen is said to be on the verge of signing a lucrative deal for a season of racing in the World Rally Championship.

The Finnish driver parted company with Ferrari at the end of the season to make way for Fernando Alonso.  Taking a £10million pay out across 2010 for not contuing in F1 for a season, Raikkonen’s sabbatical year seems to be taking him to gravel and sand as opposed to another circuit racing series.

The 2007 champion has tried his hand at rally driving before.

The deal is understood to be backed by Red Bull sponsorship, and would see Raikkonen driving the latest Citroen C4 machinery, which has propelled Sebastian Loeb to another World Championship in the sport last season.  The Red Bull backing really does seem to cement the theory that in 2011 Raikkonen will make a shock move to the Red Bull Racing F1 team to partner Sebastian Vettel in place of Mark Webber.

It was published on a website tonight that Raikkonen “is understood to be ready to sign a deal”.

Former WRC champion Petter Solberg told WRC.com this evening;  “With the proper practice, planning, and testing I think he will adapt quickly,”

“He’s a very, very good driver, and once he’s learned the basics, like how to work with pace notes, I think he will surprise many people.

“If he’s in a decent World Rally Car next season I think he could finish between third and fifth on some rallies,” Solberg predicted for the Finn’s maiden season. “The fact is, if you can drive, you can drive.

“You have to be on the case and you need some balls,” he added.

3 responses

  1. I think that see Kimi Raikkonen in the Citroën Team en WRC it’s a very important and interesting notice. Because Kimi i think that is one of this racing drivers that there aren’t more in this moment. Kimi it’s a special person, because he has his particular form to see the sport of the motor. So I hope, that he stay in the WRC in 2010, and that he return to F1 in 2011, at the Red Bull Team.
    I’m a very seguidor of your blog, for many months ago. I have another blog in blogger also about F1, it’s elrincondelaformula1.blogspot.com but soon I’m going to changed my blog for other in wordpress.com
    I would like that you will visit my blog.
    Bye

    November 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  2. I think maybe I don’t visit Ovif1’s web site, ’cause I don’t think I’ll be able to understand a thing he says – judging from the response he left above. I am intrigued, though, by this “sport of the motor” he mentions.

    November 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  3. @OviF1 Thanks for the comment, and yes I do think we lack drivers like Kimi Raikkonen nowadays in F1. Good luck with your new website.

    @Nigel Hope: Indeed, although I think Ovi put his comment into a translator, so that could be why we have confused English.

    Nevertheless thanks for the comments, and keep reading!

    Rob

    November 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

