F1 News, Views and Reviews

Full Story: Michael Schumacher Confirms F1 Return With Mercedes

Michael Schumacher’s Formula One return with Mercedes Benz has been confirmed today after an official announcement with the German driver.

Schumacher, who will be 41 at the season opener in Bahrain, has been signed on a three year deal.

He is known as the most successful F1 driver ever, with 7 titles and some 91 wins to his name and painted Formula One red with a highly successful period in the early 2000’s with Ferrari.

Ferrari as a team, and its fans will be bitterly disappointed on the announcement of Schumacher’s return with a rival team, and not with the Scuderia who make their 2010 title assault with Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa.

“The motivation I think is pretty straightforward,” Schumacher said. “The call I got from Ross at the end of November concerning the chance to go racing, Mercedes being involved, I felt great.

“I never left the race track. I was tired of F1 by the end of 2006, but in three years of absence I got back all the energy that I am feeling right now. I played around with motorbikes and I feel ready for some serious stuff now.”

“It [Mercedes GP] is a team that has won both championships this year,” he said. “With Mercedes Benz as a strong partner, our aim can only be to fight for the championship.

“There will be strong competition, as we have seen, but I am thrilled to be back in this one.”

“I played around with motorbikes, and I feel ready for some serious stuff now.”

Schumacher returns to team up with Ross Brawn a man who helped mastermind many of his titles through the years with Benetton and Ferrari.

The unstoppable duo will be back, with German backing and Nico Rosberg too.  Ross was understandably delighted that Schumacher is back.

“I asked Michael that question and he is the best judge of what he can do,” Brawn said. “I trust him explicitly and he told me he can do it.

“He has always been his own best critic, the man himself knows what he is capable of. I am very comfortable and confident and put my trust in Michael, and it won’t be misplaced.”

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Michael Schumacher to return to F1 with Mercedes

  2. Pingback: Michael Schumacher has signed with Mercedes GP?

Leave a Reply

