F1 News, Views and Reviews

De La Rosa Gets Sauber Seat – Shock Choice

Pedro de La Rosa has landed the second race seat at the recently re-formed Sauber F1 team.

The 38 year old Spaniard was not particularly in the running for the seat the team which has been reborn from the ashes of BMW’s departure from the sport.  The last race de La Rosa completed was the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix, where coincidentally Michael Schumacher retired, when he stood in for Juan Pablo Montoya.

“Pedro has spent many years working for a top team at the highest technical level,” said Peter Sauber. “We as a team stand to gain from his experience, and the same goes for young Kamui.

“The combination of a seasoned racer and an up-and-coming young driver has repeatedly proved a very fruitful one. I don’t expect either of them to disappoint in 2010.

“Of course it is also crucial that we provide them with a decent car; I feel positive about our in-house progress on that front too. We were able to continue work on our 2010 car as scheduled throughout the recent period of uncertainty.”

De la Rosa was delighted,

“I always firmly believed I would be given another chance as a team driver,” he said. “Since the number of test drives were radically reduced, this was what I was working towards.

“I’m really excited about the season with Peter Sauber’s team, which has been a solid fixture in Formula 1 ever since 1993.”

There was speculation he would go to Campos Meta, whose future has been in doubt in recent weeks despite the announcement Bruno Senna would race for them in 2010.  Christian Klien and Giancarlo Fisichella headed the list of potential drivers for the Sauber team, but neither were selected.  Klien is still sure he will get another drive though and was positive despite the announcement.

“There are still a few seats up for grabs,” Klien wrote on his official website. “I have been approached by several teams throughout the 2009 season. With two of those teams I am currently in serious negotiations.”

F1 Career to Date; Pedro de La Rosa

1998 – Test driver for Jordan

1999; 2000 – Arrows F1 Team driver

2001 – Prost test driver and Jaguar for 13 races

2002 – Jaguar

2003;4;5;6;7;8;9 – McLaren test driver

2010 – Sauber


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s