F1 News, Views and Reviews

Former Williams Driver Zanardi Going For Paralympic Medal

Former Williams F1 Team driver Alex Zanardi, who lost both legs in a freak accident in 2001 in Indycars has said he will be trying for a gold medal in the 2012 Paralympic Games which are set to be held in London following victory in a race in Rome.

The former F1 and World Touring Car driver, who raced for Williams alongisde Ralf Schumacher in 1999 has stepped up his training for the hand cycling event following his retirement from touring cars at the end of last season and hit gold in the Rome Marathon on Sunday.

“Racing here has been very exciting, a lot more than when I used to wait in a car for the lights to start a motor race – maybe because it had been habit,” Zanardi told Gazzetta dello Sport.

“To find myself among many people cheering me and pushing me on is completely different – you feel the warmth and the pleasure of the support right on your skin, you live it moment by moment.”

“I train practically every day for at least 60km and I’ve even done a 120km run to verify my stamina. The end result obtained here in Rome is excellent – it could have been better, but the route isn’t easy and I faced some winds towards the end.

“I have an objective and I won’t deny it. I hope to go to London for the 2012 Paralympic Games and fight for the podium.”

Zanardi is a hero and inspiration to us all, I wish him the best of luck for 2012.

Leave a Reply

