F1 News, Views and Reviews

Malaysian GP 2010: Webber Takes Pole As McLaren and Ferrari Stumble

Mark Webber took pole position for tomorrow’s Malaysian Grand Prix in wet conditions.   Nico Rosberg slotted his Mercedes Benz into 2nd to give him a career first front row grid start.  Webber’s team mate Sebastian Vettel will start 3rd.

The session was hampered by the weather and will be remembered best for decisions made by two of the best teams in the business, McLaren and Ferrari who decided the rain in Q1 would stop so they could get a late run in, however it didnt – the rain got worse and both Ferrari’s and Lewis Hamilton were knocked out.  Embarrassing for teams who should be much more professional.   Jenson Button made it into Q2, but couldn’t start as he stuffed his McLaren into the gravel at the end of Q1.  He aquaplaned through a river into the gravel while on intermediate tyres.

Ferrari’s loss was Lotus’ gain, the team heavily supported by Malaysia managed to get one of its cars, driven by Heikki Kovalainen through to Q2 and the Finn qualified 15th, one place ahead of Timo Glock in the Virgin meaning Lotus were the best qualified new team as well as that euphoria of getting through to the second phase of qualifying.

Kamui Kobayashi also took advantage of rivals falling by the way side and the popular Japanese put his Sauber Ferrari into 9th place, one behind veteran German Michael Schumacher and some places and one session ahead of team mate Pedro de La Rosa.

Another worthy note is for Force India, the former back markers getting both cars into Q3, with Liuzzi 10tyh and Adrian Sutil an astonishing 4th just ahead of Nico Hulkenberg the rookie German slotting his car home into 5th.

With such a mixed up grid, and the potential for changeable weather, expect a crazy Grand Prix tomorrow morning.

Pos  Driver         Team                   Q1        Q2        Q3
 1.  Webber         Red Bull-Renault       1:51.886  1:48.210  1:49.327
 2.  Rosberg        Mercedes               1:52.560  1:47.417  1:50.673
 3.  Vettel         Red Bull-Renault       1:47.632  1:46.828  1:50.789
 4.  Sutil          Force India-Mercedes   1:49.479  1:47.085  1:50.914
 5.  Hulkenberg     Williams-Cosworth      1:49.664  1:47.346  1:51.001
 6.  Kubica         Renault                1:46.283  1:46.951  1:51.051
 7.  Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth      1:50.301  1:48.371  1:51.511
 8.  Schumacher     Mercedes               1:52.239  1:48.400  1:51.717
 9.  Kobayashi      Sauber-Ferrari         1:48.467  1:47.792  1:51.767
10.  Liuzzi         Force India-Mercedes   1:49.922  1:48.238  1:52.254
11.  Petrov         Renault                1:47.952  1:48.760
12.  de la Rosa     Sauber-Ferrari         1:47.153  1:48.771
13.  Buemi          Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:48.945  1:49.207
14.  Alguersuari    Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:48.655  1:49.464
15.  Kovalainen     Lotus-Cosworth         1:52.875  1:52.270
16.  Glock          Virgin-Cosworth        1:52.398  1:52.520
17.  Button         McLaren-Mercedes       1:52.211
18.  Trulli         Lotus-Cosworth         1:52.884
19.  Alonso         Ferrari                1:53.044
20.  Hamilton       McLaren-Mercedes       1:53.050
21.  Massa          Ferrari                1:53.283
22.  Chandhok       HRT-Cosworth           1:56.299
23.  Senna          HRT-Cosworth           1:57.269
24.  di Grassi      Virgin-Cosworth        1:59.977

One response

  1. Cool article, will definitely show this to my friends

    April 30, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s