F1 News, Views and Reviews

Yamamoto Signs Up With HRT As Test Driver

Sakon Yamamoto has rejoined Formula One, this time as the test and dvelopment driver to the Hispania HRT racing team.

He joins the Spanish minnow and teams up with Colin Kolles, his former boss at Spyker where he enjoyed his last foray into competitive F1 racing back in 2007.  Prior to that, he had raced for Super Aguri in F1, and also raced in the popular Japanese Super GT and Formula Nippon series’.  When he left Spyker at the end of 2007, he joined Renault as a test driver and spent some time in GP2 and GP2 Asia last year.

Kolles is hoping that Yamamoto can provide some technical support as the team attempts to get off the bottom of the timesheets with their drivers, Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok.

Sakon Yamamoto said on this announcement: “I am very pleased to be joining the HRT F1 Team. It is fantastic to be part of a new team and I hope I will be able to gather useful data whenever possible on Friday for the race drivers. I have seen how committed everyone at the team is and I feel the same.

“I will be doing my very best to support Karun and Bruno this year. I’m proud to work with this Spanish team, because Spain is like my second home as I also live in Barcelona.”

Leave a Reply

