F1 News, Views and Reviews

Lotus Raid Force India For New Technical Staff

Lotus’ technical director has revealed an array of new technical team signings for the British/Malaysian team, with all of the signings coming from rival team Force India.

The Force India team have lost Mark Smith, one of their top designers who joins Lotus to team up with Mike Gascoyne once again.  Also coming into the green and yellow squad are Lewis Butler and Marianne Hinson who will take the roles of chief designer and head of aerodynamic development.

“I’m exceptionally pleased to welcome Marianne and Lewis to Lotus Racing, and I’m very excited to once again be teaming up with Mark Smith who I have previously worked with at Jordan, Renault and Force India,” said Gascoyne.

“Lewis and I were together at Force India, and Lewis also worked with Mark Smith at Red Bull, and Marianne and I have known each other since 1999 when I gave her her first job in F1 at Jordan, so we all know each other very well.

“Mark Smith and I were first at Jordan together where our first car was the 199, Jordan’s most successful F1 entrant, and then he came with me to Renault where we helped put them back on the top step of the podium, and put in place the team that went on to win two world championships.

“Most recently we were together at Force India, and I’m delighted he sees the potential we have here, and has seized the opportunity to work with me, Tony [Fernandes] and the whole team on helping Lotus Racing reach the front of the grid.”

Leave a Reply

