F1 News, Views and Reviews

British GP 2010: Vettel Storms To Pole As Button Falters

Sebastian Vettel scored another pole position, a vital pole ahead of team mate Mark Webber ahead of tomorrow’s British Grand Prix at the Silverstone Circuit.

Despite laps which were not completely clean, the superior pace of the Red Bull led to Webber leading through both Q1 and Q2, but it was Vettel that stole the show in Q3.  Red Bull have again been accused of favouritism toward the young German, something which team boss Christian Horner profusely denies.

Fernando Alonso made it into 3rd, a stellar effort in the Ferrari which is certainly looking like the second fastest car – although he was blocked in Q3 by Rubens Barrichello.  Team mate Felipe Massa could not do as well, and will start 7th tomorrow.

Lewis Hamilton has the hopes of the entire home nation on his shoulders, despite a poor weekend for the McLaren with their blown diffuser failure, he starts 4th.  Team mate Button starts 10 place further back in 14th.  Not good for the 2009 World Champion.  Martin Whitmarsh of McLaren tells us that they are only keeping 6 of the new parts on the car from an initial start list of about 30 new pieces.  Still lots of work to do.

Rosberg and Kubica are 5th and 6th, with Barrichello, De la Rosa and Michael Schumacher rounding out the top 10.

Jaime Alguersuari got caught out in Q1, and will start ion 18th – the young Spaniard was clearly unimpressed.

Sakon Yamamoto, Bruno Senna’s replacement at Hispania just looked poor.  Indeed both HRT’s were appalling today, some 6 seconds off the pace through Q1.  If the 107% rule was in, the new Japanese man would not be racing tomorrow.  The other new teams, Lotus and Virgin now have an easy 2 second advantage over the Spanish outfit.

Pos  Driver         Team                   Q1        Q2        Q3       
 1.  Vettel         Red Bull-Renault       1:30.841  1:30.480  1:29.615
 2.  Webber         Red Bull-Renault       1:30.858  1:30.114  1:29.758
 3.  Alonso         Ferrari                1:30.997  1:30.700  1:30.426
 4.  Hamilton       McLaren-Mercedes       1:31.297  1:31.118  1:30.556
 5.  Rosberg        Mercedes               1:31.626  1:31.085  1:30.625
 6.  Kubica         Renault                1:31.680  1:31.344  1:31.040
 7.  Massa          Ferrari                1:31.313  1:31.010  1:31.172
 8.  Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth      1:31.424  1:31.126  1:31.175
 9.  de la Rosa     Sauber-Ferrari         1:31.533  1:31.327  1:31.274
10.  Schumacher     Mercedes               1:32.058  1:31.022  1:31.430
11.  Sutil          Force India-Mercedes   1:31.109  1:31.399
12.  Kobayashi      Sauber-Ferrari         1:31.851  1:31.421
13.  Hulkenberg     Williams-Cosworth      1:32.144  1:31.635
14.  Button         McLaren-Mercedes       1:31.435  1:31.699
15.  Liuzzi         Force India-Mercedes   1:32.226  1:31.708
16.  Petrov         Renault                1:31.638  1:31.796
17.  Buemi          Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:31.901  1:32.012
18.  Alguersuari    Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:32.430
19.  Kovalainen     Lotus-Cosworth         1:34.405
20.  Glock          Virgin-Cosworth        1:34.775
21.  Trulli         Lotus-Cosworth         1:34.864
22.  di Grassi      Virgin-Cosworth        1:35.212
23.  Chandhok       HRT-Cosworth           1:36.576
24.  Yamamoto       HRT-Cosworth           1:36.968



One response

  1. Nice post friends,,,
    just fo share about greatest car in the world, pleese visit my blog
    http://extraordinarycar.blogspot.com/ Thanks.. 🙂

    July 18, 2010 at 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s