F1 News, Views and Reviews

Yamamoto Thankful To Hispania For Race Opportunity

Sakon Yamamoto has said he is very thankful to the bosses of Hispania Racing for allowing him the opportunity to race for the team at last weekends British Grand Prix.

In a late change to their driver line up, Yamamoto replaced Bruno Senna in the #2 car alongside Karun Chandhok.  It was a surprise to many in the paddock, but the outing for the Japanese driver is likely to be a one off with Senna set to take his car back in Germany.

Sakon had a quiet but consistent race, finishing 2 laps off the leaders pace.

“I am very happy that the team achieved its target, another two-car finish,” the former Spyker driver said.

“It was a good experience for me to race in Formula 1 again. I could improve all over the weekend and got a better feeling for the car.

“I want to thank the team for giving me the chance to race here in Silverstone. I was able to show that I am prepared to be back in the cockpit and, whenever I’ll get the opportunity to race again, I will take it. I also want to thank my, fans who always supported me over the years. It was a very special and exciting weekend for me.”

Leave a Reply

