F1 News, Views and Reviews

Raikkonen Backs Away From 2011 F1 Return But Considers 2012 Date

Kimi Raikkonen has backed away from claims he was about to make a shock return to Formula One next season with the Renault team.

Raikkonen, who won the F1 world championship in 2007, left the sport at the end of last season.  He now races in World Rally with the Citroen Junior Team in partnership with Red Bull.

Reports from within the Renault team camp suggested that they had made an offer for Kimi to join Robert Kubica at the team for next season replacing Vitaly Petrov.  However today Raikkonen suggested he was happy with rallying, for the time being at least.

“I don’t miss Formula 1 and I am enjoying what I am doing now,” Raikkonen told reporters

“I have still not decided what I am doing next year yet. Soon I have to decide, maybe it will be just after Rally Finland.”

Meanwhile Oliver Quesnel of Citroen Motorsport was confident the Finn would sign for another season.

“I’m sure this will happen,” he said. “For myself, he is really involved in rallying and he wants to succeed. I will be pleased if he will stay. he has done one year and he needs to do one more year to make sure.”

Red Bull are said to be very happy with their partnership with Raikkonen, and there is still a possibility he could return to F1 in 2012 but with the high flying Red Bull team in place of Mark Webber.  He would theoretically be racing alongside Sebastian Vettel.

10 responses

  1. nowheelspin

    kimi come back !!!

    July 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm

  2. come kimi, F1 want you, join to renault

    July 19, 2010 at 2:26 am

  3. “I have still not decided what I am doing next year yet. Soon I have to decide, maybe it will be just after Rally Finland.”

    He didn say he’s not making a come back to formula 1. there are very strong chances that he will!

    July 20, 2010 at 8:46 am

  4. Kimmi WILL do this – he´ll get bored without all the glamour soon, trust me.

    July 21, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  5. cecilia

    Well 2012 with Vettel in Red Bull would be swell. But who would replace Webber in 2011? Even if he wins and does not retire, I can’t imagine another season like this last one. He sucked all of the joy and fun out of what would have been a great Red Bull season run. He constantly degraded Red Bull and was openly contemptuous with his team mate. What a poor sport he is. If he stays, I will have to pick a new team to back for next season and just cheer Vettel on independently, like I do Nico R now.

    October 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  6. Kimi karnan

    Kimi, this is karnan From chennai. PLEASE BACK TO 2011 Formula one season please. . .Other wise i Ignore the 2011season or untill you back to formula one. .so,please please come Kimi. . . .

    November 7, 2010 at 2:44 am

  7. Kimi's Fan Prasanna

    Kimi F1 is not interesting without your stunning overtakes.Come back to F1 Iceman.

    November 21, 2010 at 2:10 pm

  8. tony dagher

    Kimi F1 is not interesting without your stunning overtakes.Come back to F1 please

    November 25, 2010 at 2:06 am

  9. Great post! thank you very much for sharing this post. 🙂

    February 7, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  10. Haley Nguyen

    I like F1, but with me F1 is not as interesting as Moto GP or W-Rally. However, I am still waiting Kimi come back to F1 so that I want to watch F1 again.
    I do not understand that why people buy expensive tickets to watch F1 when this car just follow other cars without pulling out any car?
    I love you Kimi.

    February 9, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

