F1 News, Views and Reviews

Abu Dhabi GP: Vettel Wins Race And Championship As Ferrari Blow It

Sebastian Vettel took victory in the Grand Prix at Abu Dhabi, but most importantly for him he takes the victory of the drivers world championship.  He is the youngest ever world champion, taking that crown from Lewis Hamilton who could only finish in 2nd.

Jenson Button the outgoing world champion was 3rd after he ran a much longer first stint on the softer tyres.

Michael Schumacher was taken out right at the start of the race after Nico Rosberg tipped his car into a spin, before Tonio Liuzzi mounted the Mercedes in a horrific looking accident which nearly caused serious damage to Schumacher himself.  Both fortunately walked away.

The early safety car meant that many drivers pitted early, including Vitaly Petrov and Nico Rosberg who would become pivotal in the world championship battle.

Mark Webber pitted early on in the race as he was struggling with the softer tyres, and he came out well down the field.  For some unknown reason, Ferrari pitted Fernando Alonso – from a world championship winning position – meaning he came out of the pits behind Petrov and Rosberg who didn’t need to stop.  He couldn’t get passed Petrov for the entire Grand Prix, ruining any chance he had of winning the title.

Webber couldn’t get passed Alonso despite being let through by Alguersuari after his early stop.

The track provided little overtaking at it really was only exciting because of the potential championship fight.  In truth that wasn’t half as exciting as it could have been with Hamilton not really closing on the win and Alonso/Webber being stuck right at the back.

So Vettel won easily enough, no hassle.  Everything went right for the young German today.  Red Bull will be delighted because not only did they win the constructors title last week, they have the drivers title to go with it from their prodigal son – their favoured one.  Will Webber stick around at Red Bull?  Who knows.


Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
 1.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           1h39m36.837s
 2.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           +     10.1s
 3.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +     11.0s
 4.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   +     30.7s
 5.  Kubica        Renault                    +     39.0s
 6.  Petrov        Renault                    +     43.5s
 7.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +     43.7s
 8.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +     44.2s
 9.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     50.2s
10.  Massa         Ferrari                    +     50.8s
11.  Heidfeld      Sauber-Ferrari             +     51.5s
12.  Barrichello   Williams-Cosworth          +     57.6s
13.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes       +     58.3s
14.  Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari             +     59.5s
15.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +   1m03.1s
16.  Hulkenberg    Williams-Cosworth          +   1m04.7s
17.  Kovalainen    Lotus-Cosworth             +     1 lap
18.  Di Grassi     Virgin-Cosworth            +    2 laps
19.  Senna         HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
20.  Klien         HRT-Cosworth               +    2 laps
21.  Trulli        Lotus-Cosworth             +    4 laps



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s