F1 News, Views and Reviews

Reaction To Sebastian Vettel’s 2010 World Championship Win

Here’s a selection of comments and quotes to Sebastian Vettel’s World Championship win today at Abu Dhabi.

Sebastian Vettel: “I am a bit speechless to be honest, I don’t know what you’re supposed to say in this moment. It is unbelievable. I went to bed and kept thinking about the race, about what might happen. I had some good imaginations and a good feeling.”

“We have seen incredible fights and a tight season.”   don’t know how many times we have had a different leader. Some people got written off very early and then came back, like Fernando, they came back hard. Lewis [Hamilton] came back and was leading all of us.  For some reason it does not feel like it is happening. It’s strange, but it will sink in when I finally go to sleep – but I think we will have daylight before that happens.”

Michael Schumacher (former 7 time world champion): “I’m quite happy for him because we are friends and it has been a tough year for him.  He’s had up and downs he has had to go through, probably more on the mechanical side than on the driving side so he really deserves this championship.  Well done to him, well done to the team, a great job from them all.

“My time was different time from his time, I just feel very happy for him. I think he deserves all the credit. He is a great driver, he is a fantastic guy, so I am more than happy for him.”

Christian Horner (Red Bull team principal): “It’s unbelievable.  It’s been a very emotional week for this team. I’m just so proud of the team. It’s just an amazing feeling to be double world champions, it’s the icing on the cake with the drivers’ [title]. This team is the best team in the world.  Sebastian, it’s the first time he’s led the world championship and he’s done it at the last race of the year. Unbelievable. A great job, he drove a perfect race when the pressure was on.

“He has had ups and downs, he’s had bad luck, he’s had some mechanical problems, some engine failures but he never lost his focus and belief – and now he is a champion. A great season.”

Mark Webber (Red Bull team mate): “I fully congratulate Seb on the world championship.”

Nico Rosberg (Mercedes Benz): “Congratulations to Sebastian today and he deserved the title.”

Jenson Button (McLaren): “Sebastian’s had some great races this year.  We’ve all had up and down races this year, but for the last few races Sebastian has done a great job, and he deserves to be world champion of course.”

Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber): “I also want to congratulate Sebastian (Vettel) for his great success!”

Rob @TheF1FanaticsBlog: “I was always confident that Vettel would win a title someday, but I really thought Alonso would win today.  Well done to him, but as a Ferrari fan I am highly disappointed!”

 

Leave a Reply

